ASCPT & FDA William B. Abrams Award Lecture

The *William B. Abrams Lecture* is a joint educational initiative of ASCPT and the FDA. The lecture series, supported in part by The Merck Company Foundation, was established in 1999 to honor William B. Abrams, MD, an ASCPT president from 1975 to 1976.

Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Abrams worked at the FDA as the first special government employee to establish the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Staff College and develop its curriculum. He also had a distinguished career in the pharmaceutical industry as a longtime employee of Merck Research Laboratories.

For more than 20 years, ASCPT and the FDA have invited experts from academia, industry, and government to discuss advances in clinical pharmacology and drug development. These scientists haveexcelled in their specialty areas and are some of the most highly esteemed clinical pharmacologists in the field. Their presentations convey novel information and perspectives on fundamental aspects of clinical pharmacology. Previous lectures have included speakers from the Mayo Clinic, the University of California, Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics, and the National Institutes of Health.

Previous Recipients

2022: Lawrence J. Lesko, PhD 2021: Mary F. Paine, PhD, RPh 2020: Mary V. Relling, PharmD 2019: Craig W. Hendrix, MD 2018: Kim L. R. Brouwer, PharmD, PhD 2017: William J. Jusko, PhD 2016: Julie A Johnson, PharmD 2015: Leslie Z. Benet, PhD 2014: David Flockhart, MD, PhD 2013: Gordon L. Amidon, PhD 2012: Russ B. Altman, MD, PhD 2011: Raymond L. Woodley, MD, PhD 2010: Gregory L. Kearns, PharmD, PhD 2009: William M. Pardridge, MD 2008: Howard L. MacLeod, PharmD 2007: Daniel R. Weinberger, MD 2006: Alan S. Nies, MD 2005: Floyd E. Bloom, MD 2004: Richard M. Weinshilboum, MD 2003: Marcus M. Reidenberg, MD 2002: Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD 2001: Stephen P. Spielberg, MD, PhD 2000: Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD Inaugural Lecture 1999: Carl C. Peck, MD